Office of the Circuit Court Clerk
The duties of the Office are set forth by Statute, Rules of the Supreme Court and Administrative orders of the 17th Judicial Circuit.  The office is responsible for maintaining a record of all traffic, civil, and criminal cases filed and heard in Boone County, Illinois.  The Circuit Clerk’s office also receives and holds in trust monies to be disbursed on order of the court.

On a daily basis, the office interacts with the public and attorneys performing several functions including the collection and disbursement of traffic fines, civil fees and child support.  It is also the duty of the Circuit Clerk to summon prospective jurors for both petit jury and grand jury duty. The Circuit Clerk’s Office is responsible for the long term recording of child support payments collected and disbursed through the County as well as payments made through the State Disbursement Unit.

17th Judicial Circuit

Located in the far north-central region of Illinois, the Seventeenth Judicial Circuit encompasses the counties of Boone and Winnebago and covers an area of 795 square miles. According to the 2020 census, over 335,000 residents currently reside in Winnebago and Boone Counties.

The 17th Judicial Circuit has twenty-two judges assigned to it. Nine of the judges are circuit judges and elected for six year terms by the residents of either one or both of the counties comprising the 17th circuit. Six circuit judges are elected by citizens of both Winnebago and Boone Counties, 2 circuit judges are elected solely by the citizens of Winnebago County and 1 circuit judge is elected solely by the Citizens of Boone County. The remaining 13 judges are associate judges and are appointed to their positions for 4-year terms by the 9 elected circuit judges.

The Boone County Courthouse is located at 601 N. Main Street in Belvidere. There are 4 courtrooms available for use in Boone County. Other auxiliary services of the court located in the complex include the Circuit Court Clerk's office and the Boone County branch of the 17th Circuit Adult and Juvenile Probation department.

The Winnebago County Courthouse is located at 400 West State Street in downtown Rockford and is adjacent to the Public Safety Building. Within the Winnebago County courthouse complex there are 21 courtrooms available for use for the various calls. In addition, the Office of the Chief Judge and Trial Court Administrator are located in the Winnebago County Courthouse.

You will find copies of our General Orders, Local Rules and appendices at: